Skip to main content

18th Annual Worker Memorial/May Day Dinner April 28th 2024

Linda Deane
Social share icons

The Western Maine Labor Council will host its 18th Annual Workers' Memorial Day/May Day Dinner on Sunday, April 28th, at 49 Franklin Reception Hall & Mistic Theater located at 49 Franklin Street Rumford Maine.  Socializing at 4:30 Dinner 5:15. 

The evening includes a delicious buffet meal, a moving ceremony honoring Maine workers who lost their lives on the job last year, award presentations, raffles, and more.

Our Keynote Speaker is Dr. Jason Moyer-Lee,  Director, Maine DOL Bureau of Labor Standards.

Three awards will be given this year to strong champions of workers' rights and workplace safety: The Bruce D. Roy Award will be given to honor Allan Shepard, Treasurer, and former President, Organizer, and Training Director for IBEW 567; The Workers’ Solidarity Award will be given to Western Maine Transportation City Bus Drivers Lewiston/Auburn ATU 714; and The Francis Perkins Award will be bestowed in honor of Brian Bryant, International President of IAMAW, a native of Jay. Starting his career at S6, he has dedicated his life to enhancing workers' rights through his diligent efforts at the IAMAW.

I encourage you to attend this annual celebration to honor and pay tribute to our fellow workers.

For more information and to reserve tickets contact WMLC President Linda Deane [email protected]